Making a House into Home.

slate-blue-wood-trim

Image via BHG

I’ve moved a lot since I’ve been married. My husband and I have been renters our entire marriage. Throughout this time, I feel like I’ve learned quite a bit about making a house feel like a home. Whether you are a homeowner or a renter, I have a few tips to make your home welcoming and cozy and personal.

1. Lighting. Lighting is so important to our mood. Harsh overhead lighting never feels like home to me. Add floor lamps, table lamps, and/or sconces to every room.

2. Art/Mirrors/Photos. A house full of empty walls is depressing. Collect art that speaks to you and your family, find shapely mirrors that will bounce light around your home, and hang photo walls of meaningful memories (you can change these out often).

3. Window Treatments: When moving somewhere new, we tend to push window treatments to the bottom of our to-do list. Don’t do that! Window treatments soften a room and instantly make it feel a little more complete.

4. Walls: I love white walls, but I also love fun walls. Even renters can get in on the action. Try paint, wallpaper (there is even temporary wallpaper out there!), wall tiles, massive picture walls, chalkboard walls, or whatever else you can think of.

5. Texture: Adding texture around your home gives the cozy vibe that makes a house feel like it became a home with time. Rugs, throws, decorative pillows, curtains, decorative objects, baskets, and trays are my go-to items.

I hope this help anyone struggling to feel at home in their house.

What tips do you have to get cozy at home?

Leave a Reply

